Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating onions, garlic, shallots and leeks.

Old April 7, 2009   #1
TZ-OH6
Tomatovillian™

Default Garlic questions

It is recommended to plant garlic in the fall before cold weather to get more cloves, but what if you get them in early spring and then have a few cold snaps? (TZ says while looking at a dusting of snow on the ground).

How much cold is needed?

And if this cold is needed why is so much garlic grown in California where it does not get to freeze over winter?
TZ-OH6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7, 2009   #2
neoguy
Tomatovillian™

I'm no expert but I believe they grow mostly softneck varieties in California and other warm locals. Hardneck grows much better in colder climates where freezing occurs.
Both softneck and hardneck can be grown in colder climates.

As far as a dormancy period for garlic, I think you need a minimum of 6-8 weeks, someone correct me if I'm wrong. As I'm on the southern lake shore of Lake Erie, the dormancy period isn't a problem for me, unfortunately . Boy, this has been a long winter, snow is falling as I write this.

You can plant garlic in the spring but it probably won't produce cloves, only what's called a "round", a single large clove. Hardneck garlic planted in the fall will start producing cloves in late May or early June, and harvest is around the 4th of July.

My preference is for hardneck garlic, each head produces about 6-8 large cloves, depending on the variety. Much easier to clean and work with when cooking, no little, rinky, dinky cloves to try to handle.
neoguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7, 2009   #3
rxkeith
Tomatovillian™