Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Discuss your tips, tricks and experiences growing and selling vegetables, fruits, flowers, plants and herbs.

Old March 16, 2018   #1
Cole_Robbie
Tomatovillian™

Default Flowers to Grow from Plugs, Not Seed

I'm still new to the flower-selling business, and it's taking me a while to learn what *not* to try growing from seed. Flowers like zinnias, marigolds, and sunflowers are easy from seed. I am even having good luck with dahlias. My celosia looks like it came up and is growing ok.

But for a lot of flowers, it is apparent that if one is trying to sell them as a live plant, buying rooted cuttings is the way to go. So if anyone wants to speed along my learning curve as to what I should buy in cutting form instead of seed, I would be happy to listen. Last fall I ordered mums and Montauk Daisies from cuttings, and they grew well.
Cole_Robbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16, 2018   #2
FourOaks
Tomatovillian™

Something else to consider, time frame. Some seeds germinate and start their life off so, so, slooooooowly. I currently have these that I started from seed:

Verbena, Phlox, Impatiens, Coleus, Portulaca, Petunia.

They have germinated, but good Lord they grow slow. I wouldnt hesitate to buy plugs if the opportunity fell in my lap. A flower that you may try though, that goes great from seed, "Stock". All sorts of colors available. We are growing for a first time this year.

I think the best bet for flowers, would be to invest in some High Pressure Sodium lights.

I am there with you as far as raising a wide variety of flowers. Its one thing to work at a nursery, its quite another when "you" ARE the nursery.
FourOaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16, 2018   #3
BigVanVader
Tomatovillian™

I just but bought Wave petunias and calibrocha plugs today. Only way for me to have baskets by Mothers Day.
BigVanVader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16, 2018   #4
FourOaks
Tomatovillian™

Quote: