Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Have a great invention to help with gardening? Are you the self-reliant type that prefers Building It Yourself vs. buying it? Share and discuss your ideas and projects with other members.

Old June 20, 2014   #1
wally mcgee
Tomatovillian™

Default garden labels

As I'm new to saving seed I needed to be more diligent about labeling the plants in my garden. I've never had much luck with the little plastic labels.

Short story, I bought a laminator and 3"x4" laminating pouches, printed my labels on the computer and sealed them up in the pouch. The picture of the Tequila pepper label was my trial and has weathered several heavy rains.

Not sure how they will fair in the hot sun, but so far so good.

My had writing is not good.....old and shaky ...this makes me look good anyway.

Anybody else tried this. I'm sure hoping they hold up for the season.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg photo-62.JPG (173.3 KB, 420 views)
File Type: jpg photo-90.JPG (176.1 KB, 419 views)
File Type: jpg photo-91.JPG (174.9 KB, 419 views)
File Type: jpg photo-92.JPG (134.6 KB, 418 views)
File Type: jpg photo-93.JPG (110.1 KB, 418 views)
File Type: jpg photo-94.JPG (185.9 KB, 418 views)
File Type: jpg photo-95.JPG (163.7 KB, 418 views)
Old June 20, 2014   #2
dpurdy
Tomatovillian™

Rob,
I use a laminator often for different projects but never thought of doing labels this way. There actually quite attractive, and you can read them from a distance. You have to post back and let us know how they hold up over the summer. Nice looking garden . Reminds me of my friends garden area that he has down on the flat behind his barn. Everything looks very healthy and well tended. Nice job.
dpurdy
dpurdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21, 2014   #3
KenNashua
Tomatovillian™

Lol.. After presumably being careful labeling seedlings and labeling the garden, I'm looking at pear-shaped tomatoes labeled super sweet 100... Apparently not careful enough.