Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old September 8, 2007   #1
captnkirk
Tomatovillian™

Default Florida Growers Thread

Thought id start a thread here for Fl growers to post what tomatos and other veggies they have had success with and ones that didnt do so well.Beings im a beginner at this,i dont have alot of info to share yet,but hoping to change that soon.I have a few mater plants i started from seed and a few i bought growing now.some have blooms but no fruit set yet.Anybody else got fall maters out now?
captnkirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9, 2007   #2
MargeH
Tomatovillian™

Most of my plants have 2 sets of blossoms. Can't see any little tomatoes yet, but I think that some of them have set.

I am growing.:
Manasota
Chi Quita
Heaven's Joy
Prudens Purple
Florida Winter
Earl's Faux
Heart Brandywine
Black Krim
Sungold
New Big Dwarf
Stupice
Citron Compact
6 Cheeky F2 dwarfs
and two that are supposed to have resistance to Tomato Yellow Leaf Curl virus: Inbar and Polina

I pulled one plant today that I was afraid was showing early signs of the virus. It was my personal Mystery that I found last year in a commercial pack of Homestead seeds.

Last fall, the virus showed up in all of the plants that I had planted in early August. The last ones that I planted out in September never got it. I assumed that the whiteflies must have left my backyard in search of other types of plants. I cleared things earlier and waited later to plant this year, hoping to cut down on the spread of the virus. We will have to wait and see if it starts showing up everywhere.