Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

New to growing your own tomatoes? This is the forum to learn the successful techniques used by seasoned tomato growers. Questions are welcome, too.

Old April 19, 2006   #1
ZBQ
Tomatovillian™

Default What next?

Hi all!
I need the help of the collective wisdom of the board since I am a newbie with an inexperienced and unproven green thumb. 8)

My seedlings are about 2 1/2 inches tall and I have them in the 2 inch peat pots filled with Ferrymorse seed starting mix. I have had a small flourescent light on them since they sprouted the cotyledons. It only covers about 30% of the seedlings so I am rotating it back and forth to try to cover as much as possible. I am at 15 days since sowing the seed. The real leaves are starting to show in the axils.The cotyledons are a nice dark green and getting thicker, the stems are looking healthy as well. I have been hardening them for the last several days a few hours at a time. Today they have been out side for about 8 hours. Low 70's, light breezes and temps falling to 60 right now. I am going to take them in after I post this because it is supposed to get down to 49 tonight and I also have a ton of basil seedlings as well. I have been misting them at night after I bring them in. Last night a decent soaking because the tray started feeling light and I didn't want them to dry out. Most of the tomatoes are 4 seedlings to a 2 inch peat pot. Some less. Basil the same.

When should I transplant them to larger peat pots or newspaper pots? Any hints on how to separate them without damaging them? Is there anything I need to be doing that I am not, or something I am doing that I need to stop?

My grow list:

Red Brandywine
Omar's Lebonese
Green Giant
Redfeild Beauty
Lampa Alladina
Stupice
Kasachstan Kleine
Marianna's Peace
German Pink (SS)
Jelly Bean (hyb.) (wife wants grape tomatoes and I don't know of any sweet, heirloom grape size as of yet, still learning)
Cherry Roma (SS)

4 types of Basil: