Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old May 20, 2022   #1
Balr14
Tomatovillian™

Default Cherokee Purple tips?

I have been growing Cherokee purples in my Earthboxes for many years. But, the yields I got last year were disappointing and the plants were acting funny. I got about a dozen tomatoes that were earlier than all the other varieties, which is very unusual. They were large and oddly shaped with lots of ridges. The plant continued to grow, but no more flowers. This is in July. The tomatoes tasted just fine.

Does anyone have any idea what could cause this phenomenon? I didn't plant any this year... first time in as long as I can remember. Black Krims taste similar and are much more reliable.

I don't have the facilities to grow tomatoes from seed. I purchase plants from two garden centers.

Last edited by Balr14; May 20, 2022 at 05:34 PM.
Balr14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2022   #2
MrsJustice
Tomatovillian™

Well I have Many Cherokee Tomato Plants, and If I cannot find room for them; I can sent you some if you want them. With this Climate Change, I feel sorry for anyone Farmers or Gardener who are losing their plants to unexpected Weather patterns. Especially those who are dealing with "snow". I can only pray and hope they did what I did this year. I planted half and keep half in pots, until the weather became normal.
MrsJustice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2022   #3
Balr14
Tomatovillian™

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrsJustice View Post