Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating all other edible garden plants.

Old August 24, 2015   #1
whoose
Tomatovillian™

Default Self Polinating Summer Squash???

Is there such a thing as Self Polinating Summer Squash? If so experience and suggestions for my greenhouse.
whoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24, 2015   #2
shelleybean
Tomatovillian™

They're called parthenocarpic and they set without bees. Johnny's and Territorial will have some of them, I'm sure.
Old August 24, 2015   #3
clkeiper
Tomatovillian™

I am so glad you asked this. I never thought about it and I for one will be ordering seeds for the high tunnel.
Old August 24, 2015   #4
Gardadore
Tomatovillian™

I have been growing Partenon for the last 3 years in a pop up tent purchased from Gardener's Supply to keep away the borers and squash bugs. It has been a fantastic producer. All the other zucchini grown in my Earthboxes are succumbing to mildew and mold and look terrible whereas my two Partenon plants just keep pumping out new squash. Johnny's and Scheepers carry it. There is another I have not tried called Cavilli, also carried by Scheepers. Both are green. I wish I could find a yellow variety.
Gardadore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26, 2015   #5
Lorri D
Tomatovillian™

Don't forget that you can pollinate your squash yourself if you need to. Squash is the easiest thing I pollinate by hand. It always seems to take the bees a few weeks to find my garden, so I bought some small paint brushes for things like cucumbers. Squash is even easier, I just pluck the male flowers and "paint" the female flowers with the stamens. Fast, easy and works like a charm!
Lorri D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26, 2015   #6
shelleybean
Tomatovillian™

I use a Q tip to hand pollinate squash until the bees find them.
Old August 26, 2015   #7
clkeiper
Tomatovillian™