Tomatoville® Gardening Forums


Notices

Have a great invention to help with gardening? Are you the self-reliant type that prefers Building It Yourself vs. buying it? Share and discuss your ideas and projects with other members.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 22, 2017   #46
Worth1
Tomatovillian™
 
Worth1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bastrop Texas Lost Pines Forest.
Posts: 30,300
Default CFL Blinking Syndrome.

CFL Blinking Syndrome.

Pulled this off instructibles some time ago the bulb was driving me nuts as to why it was happening.
There ares ways to fix this but in my opinion not worth the trouble.
You have to solder a resistor across the conductors on the bulb.
Not gonna happen.

Quote.
"When a compact fluorescent light bulb is being controlled by an illuminated wall switch, sometimes the CFL bulb will flash when the switch is off. This flashing is very noticeable when it's dark (a bedroom at night for example).

If you have a CFL bulb installed in an illuminated wall switch (these are switches that are lit when in the off position), this instructable can help stop the flashing.

First, why does the CFL bulb flash? Many times this is due to the circuit inside the CFL charging up, even when the bulb is off. This happens many times when the CFL bulb is being controlled by an illuminated wall switch, because the wall switch uses the CFL bulb itself as neutral. When the wall switch is on, the CFL bulb gets full line voltage. When the wall switch is off, the CFL bulb is the neutral for the light of the wall switch, causing a tiny current to flow through the CFL bulb.

This tiny current charges up the capacitor in the CFL bulb, until it releases it's energy. This cycle can repeat once every few seconds."
__________________
Home of Cactus Flats Botanical Gardens.
The dinner table is where we need to get acquainted not the battlefield.
I Seek The Truth.
Worth1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 22, 2017   #47
Gerardo
Tomatovillian™
 
Gerardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: San Diego-Tijuana
Posts: 2,192
Default

keep it coming W
Gerardo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22, 2017   #48
Worth1
Tomatovillian™
 
Worth1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bastrop Texas Lost Pines Forest.
Posts: 30,300
Default

I have to go to my weekend electrical project now and possibly install a reduced pressure assembly for a guy and his lawn sprinkler system.
Lets all hope I dont get electrocuted or even drown.

Worth
__________________
Home of Cactus Flats Botanical Gardens.
The dinner table is where we need to get acquainted not the battlefield.
I Seek The Truth.
Worth1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 22, 2017   #49
Worth1
Tomatovillian™
 
Worth1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bastrop Texas Lost Pines Forest.
Posts: 30,300
Default

Just got back installed the Reduced Pressure Assembly and ran underground wire in the conduit we ran last weekend.
This is for his sewer pump and high water alarm light.
No fires electrocution or drowning.
I can't believe they have wires like this but that is the way it is.
I'm connecting them to a GFCI next Sunday.
Nice place.
Worth
IMG_20170122_22816.jpg

IMG_20170122_32235.jpg
__________________
Home of Cactus Flats Botanical Gardens.
The dinner table is where we need to get acquainted not the battlefield.
I Seek The Truth.

Last edited by Worth1; January 23, 2017 at 06:12 AM. Reason: Reduced
Worth1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 23, 2017   #50
Worth1
Tomatovillian™
 
Worth1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bastrop Texas Lost Pines Forest.
Posts: 30,300
Default

A non electrical side note.
The Reduced Pressure Assembly is there so if the pressure on the street/supply side is lower than the house side it dumps water out the bottom.
This way contaminants don't get into the water supply if a main breaks therefor siphoning lord knows what back into the drinking water.
His other one froze and busted.
This was a costly 300 some odd dollar mistake.
I didn't do all of the pipe fitting it was already there.

Worth
__________________
Home of Cactus Flats Botanical Gardens.
The dinner table is where we need to get acquainted not the battlefield.
I Seek The Truth.
Worth1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 23, 2017   #51
Worth1
Tomatovillian™
 
Worth1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bastrop Texas Lost Pines Forest.
Posts: 30,300
Default

Where do you guy's and gal's that are interested want to go next?
Wiring circuits diagrams?
Questions?
Worth
__________________
Home of Cactus Flats Botanical Gardens.
The dinner table is where we need to get acquainted not the battlefield.
I Seek The Truth.
Worth1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 23, 2017   #52
Cole_Robbie
Tomatovillian™
 
Cole_Robbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Illinois, zone 6
Posts: 7,227
Default

I have a little touch meter that glows when a wire or outlet is hot. When I replaced my water heater, I flipped off the breaker, but the meter said the wire was still hot. I know it's the right breaker; it's a fairly new mobile home and everything is marked well. I flipped off the main, and then the meter didn't glow any more. Why was it glowing when the breaker was off?
Cole_Robbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23, 2017   #53
AlittleSalt
Tomatovillian™
 
AlittleSalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Zone 8A Texas Heat Zone 9
Posts: 9,623
Default

We have a mobile home too. Until I rewired the house, finding the right breaker wasn't that easy. Nothing was marked at the breaker box. The wiring had to be replaced, so I marked which breaker goes to where it goes. All of the wiring is 110.

I have never ran 220 wiring. We got a new 220 clothes dryer given to us. However, our house has propane ran to the kitchen stove and clothes dryer - no 220. Being that we have always used a clothesline, I'm not sure if we want to put the new dryer in, but if we choose to - is running 220 like running 110? It's also possible to trade the new 220 dryer in on a propane one.
__________________
Salt, AlittleSalt, Robert
AlittleSalt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 23, 2017   #54
Cole_Robbie
Tomatovillian™
 
Cole_Robbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Illinois, zone 6
Posts: 7,227
Default

Did you measure from the panel to the dryer? 220 wire is expensive, and the Menards I shop at sells it in 25, 50 & 100 ft sections. I have wanted to upgrade a window ac outlet to 220, but the cost of the wire has kept me from doing so.
Cole_Robbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23, 2017   #55
AlittleSalt
Tomatovillian™
 
AlittleSalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Zone 8A Texas Heat Zone 9
Posts: 9,623
Default

After rough measuring, we would have to buy 50'. We would use around 30' of it.

Edit http://www.homedepot.com/p/Romex-50-...8422/202316239
__________________
Salt, AlittleSalt, Robert

Last edited by AlittleSalt; January 23, 2017 at 12:31 PM.
AlittleSalt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 23, 2017   #56
dmforcier
Tomatovillian™
 
dmforcier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,391
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Worth1 View Post
Where do you guy's and gal's that are interested want to go next?
Wiring circuits diagrams?
Questions?
Why not concentrate on attaching a fixture to a circuit. Screws, screw color, bayonets, stripping and forming a hook, pigtails, splices & wire nuts, dressing the wire in the box.

Use akgardengirl's question about changing a switch. Which replacement to select, how to pull the switch out of the box, how to check for hot, disconnect and reconnect.

For an extra topic, what's that red wire doing in the box? Why does this white wire have black marker on the last couple inches? Outlets in a daisy chain.

Lots and lots to deal with.
__________________


Stupidity got us into this mess. Why can't it get us out?
- Will Rogers


dmforcier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23, 2017   #57
Cole_Robbie
Tomatovillian™
 
Cole_Robbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Illinois, zone 6
Posts: 7,227
Default

When I had a pole put in for my greenhouse, the electric company said I had to have the service entrance built, the thing that attaches to the pole outside. Then they gave me their own spec sheet about the way it had to be constructed, and told me to hire a local electrician.

From what I understand, every utility company has their own precise specs about the service entrance. It reminds me a lot of the practice of law and the trade protectionism involved. Very few things are hand-built built one at a time in our modern world. The best reason to keep it that way is to make a good job for someone. The service entrance I paid $1,500 for to a local guy to build would have been $300 if it was made in China, or at least assembled there. I'm sure the parts my local guy used were Chinese. Is there any practical reason that things are done the way they are?
Cole_Robbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23, 2017   #58
Worth1
Tomatovillian™
 
Worth1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bastrop Texas Lost Pines Forest.
Posts: 30,300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cole_Robbie View Post
I have a little touch meter that glows when a wire or outlet is hot. When I replaced my water heater, I flipped off the breaker, but the meter said the wire was still hot. I know it's the right breaker; it's a fairly new mobile home and everything is marked well. I flipped off the main, and then the meter didn't glow any more. Why was it glowing when the breaker was off?
More than likely it was labeled wrong or one leg was still hot.
Was it a 240 breaker or two one 120 breaker sstacked.
I have seen this.
A 240 breaker takes up two spaces.
All the reason to have a volt meter.
It could even possibley been induced voltage.
I dont trust those light sticks.
Worth
__________________
Home of Cactus Flats Botanical Gardens.
The dinner table is where we need to get acquainted not the battlefield.
I Seek The Truth.

Last edited by Worth1; January 23, 2017 at 01:17 PM.
Worth1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 23, 2017   #59
Worth1
Tomatovillian™
 
Worth1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bastrop Texas Lost Pines Forest.
Posts: 30,300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cole_Robbie View Post
When I had a pole put in for my greenhouse, the electric company said I had to have the service entrance built, the thing that attaches to the pole outside. Then they gave me their own spec sheet about the way it had to be constructed, and told me to hire a local electrician.

From what I understand, every utility company has their own precise specs about the service entrance. It reminds me a lot of the practice of law and the trade protectionism involved. Very few things are hand-built built one at a time in our modern world. The best reason to keep it that way is to make a good job for someone. The service entrance I paid $1,500 for to a local guy to build would have been $300 if it was made in China, or at least assembled there. I'm sure the parts my local guy used were Chinese. Is there any practical reason that things are done the way they are?
Yes and no.
Sometimes it depends on what latest version of the NEC They adopt and the authority having jurisdiction.
Nothing is law until it is adopted.
Worth
__________________
Home of Cactus Flats Botanical Gardens.
The dinner table is where we need to get acquainted not the battlefield.
I Seek The Truth.

Last edited by Worth1; January 23, 2017 at 01:24 PM.
Worth1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 23, 2017   #60
kurt
Tomatovillian™
 
kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 2,065
Default Pool,pump,well,ground bonding.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Worth1 View Post
Where do you guy's and gal's that are interested want to go next?
Wiring circuits diagrams?
Questions?
Worth
I am sure all new installations are up to snuff in your locales but here is a insight regarding water/electricity and older systems.All pool lighting in Fl has to be 12volt(via a transformer)Scary stuff. Also Mike Holt .com has really good info if you want.

http://cullenelectriccincinnati.com/...g-pool-wiring/
__________________
KURT
kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:40 PM.


★ Tomatoville® is a registered trademark of Commerce Holdings, LLC ★ All Content ©2017 Commerce Holdings, LLC ★