Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General discussion regarding the techniques and methods used to successfully grow tomato plants in containers.

Old May 15, 2016   #1
isuhunter
Tomatovillian™

Default Container growing help needed

Hi everyone - I'm new to growing in containers and will be adding some more tomatoes in containers this year because I have filled my garden already. Last year I grew some in containers with minimal success.

I tried using the 5-1-1 mix and struggled to find the good nuggets.

A couple questions I have....

What is a good premix container soil? I have access to city compost for free. I also am near a menards, home depot, lowes, theisens, tractor supply, or a blains.

What size container do your recommend for a tomato plant?
isuhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2016   #2
pecker88
Tomatovillian™

Quote:
Originally Posted by isuhunter View Post
Hi everyone - I'm new to growing in containers and will be adding some more tomatoes in containers this year because I have filled my garden already. Last year I grew some in containers with minimal success.

I tried using the 5-1-1 mix and struggled to find the good nuggets.

A couple questions I have....

What is a good premix container soil? I have access to city compost for free. I also am near a menards, home depot, lowes, theisens, tractor supply, or a blains.

What size container do your recommend for a tomato plant?
Ive had good results with promix, in Lincoln I get this stuff
http://www.tomatoville.com/showthread.php?t=40705

I like to add a little extra perlite, maybe 4 parts mix 1 part perlite.

For nutes I use about 1/4 to 1/2 cup of fox farm happy frog tomato and veg. granular fertilizer per month. Sprinkled around the edge of the pot.
pecker88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2016   #3
ContainerTed
Tomatovillian™