Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old August 18, 2016   #1
fnordly
Tomatovillian™

Default 5 gallon movable fall crop

Hello all, I live in 70525 area code and Yes! we have had a bit of a flood down here in southern Louisiana. All the more reason for my fall tomato plan…
I started Black Krim, Big Beef, and Delicious over a month ago. All are vigorous… specially the Krim. Before that, I cloned my best Cherokee Purple and Brandywine plants from Spring. These will be augmented with Black Cherry and Berkley Tie Dye.
I'm very new to this heirloom game. Last Spring I dug ten 12" cubed holes in a back yard plot that sits on top of clay soil (very good for holding water for rice/crawfish fields but much work to dig up). Hence, my move to 5 gallon containers for my first fall attempt.
I'm just as new to growing in containers. I have a clone mother of my Brandywine with two fruits and another mama clone CP about to make. So far I've been using a Garden Soil plus amendments for my soil containers and the clay in ground containers. I'm adding Lime and manure compost and peat, humus, etc.
Any advice about keeping containers over the years and how to replenish the 10 in ground clay pots?

thanks,
fnord!
fnordly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18, 2016   #2
Gerardo
Tomatovillian™

If you can, make some holes along the bottom couple of inches to help with ventilation.

Tinker with the amount of biomass in the container so it doesn't promote things going anaerobic.

And don't forget the perlite.

Hope the clones are strong.

Last edited by Gerardo; August 19, 2016 at 05:02 PM.
Gerardo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18, 2016   #3
Gardeneer
Tomatovillian™