Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old April 1, 2020   #1
Black Krim
Tomatovillian™

Default Growing Zones

With another mild spring, that forced a look at growing / planting zones ....and trying to find a definition based on the coldest temps.

Based on this
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hardiness_zone

the lowest temps moves my area one zone warmer.

Anyone else think the zones need updating ??
Black Krim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2, 2020   #2
PaulF
Tomatovillian™

The current zone maps are from 2012. Adjustments are made "periodically". The last adjustment previously was six years. USDA is behind a bit. The map shows me at zone 5 and I have been gardening as though I am in zone 6 for the past four years. The Arbor Day maps are more up to date.
Old April 2, 2020   #3
Black Krim
Tomatovillian™

Will definitely check out the Arbor Day Map.

Ive never set out plants this early. Figured it was worth the risk. Being New England, a late frost is normal..... the trick is to use fleece to protect the tenderest plants. And cross my fin gers.
Old April 2, 2020   #4
Black Krim
Tomatovillian™

https://www.arborday.org/media/zones.cfm

This winter did not reach the Zone 6 lows, definitely in the 7 zone.
Old April 5, 2020   #5
eyolf
Tomatovillian™

While MY MN garden sems to have moved into Z4, some crops will still be problematic, and I wont go planting any almond trees or wine grapes just yet.

Back in the mid-90's, when Gurneys, Henry Field, and a few other old-tyme seed houses were still alive we ordered a couple of apple trees and some berries from Gurneys. They mixed our order up with someone elses...who had ordered some grapes and some berries.