Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old January 21, 2018   #1
CC8147
Tomatovillian™

Default Paste Tomato Variety Suggestions

Hi! As a relative Tomatoville newbie, I am not certain if my question is posed on the correct thread, but I am giving it a hopeful try. I am seeking suggestions for paste tomato varieties that would grow well in the Puget Sound region of Washington State. A few years ago my cousin and I both attempted to grow San Marzano tomatoes but had poor productivity and blossom end rot. We gave up growing this variety, but I would like to give paste tomatoes another go this year. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thank very much!

As a side note, my soil is hard-pan so I grow tomatoes in 10 gallon nursery pots.
CC8147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21, 2018   #2
maxjohnson
Tomatovillian™

I've heard good reputation for Opalka from various gardeners, not just this forum alone, so I'm growing it this year.
maxjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21, 2018   #3
rhines81
Tomatovillian™

I also gave up the san marzano due to low production and switched to 'organic roma' which is much better. I've heard good things about 'amish paste' but have not personally tried it.
rhines81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21, 2018   #4
ginger2778
Tomatovillian™

A piriform large fruited very dry meaty great sauce tomato with over the top production is Goldman's Italian American. Transforms when it makes sauce. There will be seeds in my offer, for SASE, that will be posted in a week or so.
ginger2778 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21, 2018   #5
clkeiper
Tomatovillian™

Giant garden paste hy churned out tomatoes all Summer last year it even laughed at the bacterial speck going on in the garden.