Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating beans, peas, peanuts, clover and vetch.

Old July 28, 2015   #1
barefootgardener
Tomatovillian™

Default Serengeti French Filet Bean

The beans are coming in. My first pickings! I picked a large colander of Serengeti French Filet Beans . More on the vines/bush growing. This is a early maturing variety with some pretty good yields so far. The beans are pencil thin, with long straight pods. I picked them when they reached close to five or six inches. The plants are only about 14-17 inches high, but strong and hardy. The beans are very tender when lightly steamed for just a few minutes. Extremely tasty raw also.
This is my first year growing this variety, and I will definitely it grow again. My husband and I loved them!!

Ginny

Last edited by barefootgardener; July 28, 2015 at 05:11 PM.
barefootgardener is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28, 2015   #2
barefootgardener
Tomatovillian™

I lightly steamed the beans for a few minutes. Fried up some bacon, crumbled it , then I saute'd some garlic in butter and grapeseed oil. Let the flavors infuse a bit, then added the crumbled bacon. Drizzled the mixture over the beans coating them. It was yummy. The husband and kids loved it !! Win.. Win !! I served the dish with BLT's of course! This picture stretched out a bit when I tried to edit!! lol

Last edited by barefootgardener; July 28, 2015 at 05:12 PM.
Old August 12, 2015   #3
yardn_gardn
Tomatovillian™

Location: Central Idaho at 3200 elev. in zone 5b, maybe 100 frost free days

Your bacon and bean dish looks fabulous. How is Serengeti yielding now that it's later in the summer?
Old August 12, 2015   #4
ddsack
Tomatovillian™

OOh, that bacon dish looks scrumptious! I am growing Serengeti for the first time this year too! Have the first picking frozen, and it's time for the 2nd picking tomorrow.

ddsack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12, 2015   #5
barefootgardener