Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Information and discussion regarding garden diseases, insects and other unwelcome critters.

Old June 23, 2011   #1
To-MAH-to
Tomatovillian™

Default Help...my aphid plant has tomatoes!

New here.
Well, I had what was probably 2000 (low estimate) aphids growing nicely on the potted plant and a few tomatoes.
So...how do I get rid of these pesky tomatoes???

Really tho.
I have never seen so many aphids on 3 tomato plants. I've been growing cherry tomatoes on and off for 20 years and have never even had to treat them for insects before.
Yesterday I go out and see all these white 'specks' and on closer examination they were tiny bugs. On the underside of a lot of leaves were what had to be a minimum of 2 thousand of them both white and larger green ones.

I got some Ortho BugBGone Max and treated as per the instructions but I have a genetic disease (acute intermittent porphyria) which makes it so I have to be seriously careful with any chemical (even hairspray for crying out loud).

So my questions are;
1. will a treatment of the Ortho likely do the trick? If so, how long should it take to get rid of the little mutants?

2. Is there a better non chemical method that ACTUALLY works?

Nice to meet all of you. Great forum
To-MAH-to is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23, 2011   #2
mdvpc
Tomatoville® Moderator

You can dust them with diatomaceous earth-also put the DE around the pot-get it from Home ★★★★★ or Lowes or a nursery. You can order some green lacewing eggs-thats what I use and they control them well.
Old June 23, 2011   #3
Mark0820
Tomatovillian™