Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating eggplants/aubergines.

Old August 10, 2009   #1
huntsman
Tomatovillian™

Default New to all veg and certainly Aubs...

I have bought Eggplant / Aubs seeds without doing any research whatsoever.

Does anyone have some tips on how / when to plant, and germinate, etc?

huntsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11, 2009   #2
WVTomatoMan
Tomatovillian™

Eggplant is a slow growing plant so I start my seeds 9 weeks before plant date. I start the seeds indoors under florescent lights and supply bottom heat. I harden them off then plant them. They like lots of sun and they like it hot. They also like plenty of water. I have found that eggplants grow best in containers so I won't be using valuable garden space for eggplants in the future. They're fairly easy. This is my first year growing them and things have gone fairly well.

If you have any further and/or specific questions just ask.

Good luck.

Randy

Randy
WVTomatoMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11, 2009   #3
Wi-sunflower
Tomatovillian™

Eggplant plants grow faster than hot peppers but slower than tomatoes. I usually start mine after the peppers but before the tomatoes.

The biggest mistake most growers make with eggplant transplants tho is to grow them like peppers, in similar sized pots. Eggplants DO NOT like to get rootbound. When they are, they will not do well when put in the garden. They will take a LOOOONNGGG time before they will start growing again and won't set fruit for for a long time.

I always put my starts in a larger pot than you might think is needed and then try to get them into the ground before they look rootbound and stressed.

The other big problem with eggplants can be Colorado Potato Beetles. The larvae can strip a plant down to sticks in just a couple of days when they are bad. The darker stemmed Asian types are especially good as CPB "traps" if you are growing potatoes.

Carol