Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

New to growing your own tomatoes? This is the forum to learn the successful techniques used by seasoned tomato growers. Questions are welcome, too.

Old May 8, 2007   #1
jenn_sc
SPLATT™ Coordinator

Default Seed starting for fall tomatoes: Questions

Despite my long growing season here in S.C., I have never attempted a separate fall crop of tomatoes. Usually by June or July I'm worn out with the upkeep of my garden and don't get around to it. This year I plan to try to start a fall crop. Since it's my first time, I have a few questions...

First of all, when should a zone 8 grower start fall seeds? Our first frost typically doesn't happen until early/mid November. I'm thinking late June but I'm not sure. Any opinions?

Also, should I try to limit myself to early varieties? Could I squeeze in a few later ones? I think the only early seeds I have are Stupice. Most of the varieties in my collection are late season ones, although I could always order something new Any excuse to add to the collection is a good thing

And here's my last question: how do you make room for fall crops? Do you set aside planting space alongside the spring tomatoes? I ask because I've used most of my available growing space outside already. I may have to rely on the fact that some of my plants will probably be worn out and/or diseased by late summer (so I can pull them without guilt) But if I get lucky and some of my spring toms are still truckin' along, what should I do? Maybe grow them in containers?

I'd like to know more about how other gardeners are managing fall seed starting. Any advice, tips, ideas, or suggestions will be most appreciated!!!

Jennifer
jenn_sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2007   #2
creister
Tomatovillian™