Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General discussion regarding the techniques and methods used to successfully grow tomato plants in containers.

Old May 20, 2015   #1
squirrel789
Tomatovillian™

Default Newbie here with deep horse trough container. Can it work?

Hello all,

I copied and reposted this from the "townhall" page, I hope that's OK because I wasn't sure how to move the thread (if that's even possible). I also edited a little.

Anyway, I'm a newbie to serious container gardening and am very curious to hear any feedback on my tomato method this year because it's a totally new experiment for me. Sorry for the long post, but I thought I should explain as many details as possible.

First of all, I love good, home-grown tomatoes more than any other vegetable. I've helped my dad grow around 120-150 tomato plants per year on his farm for the past 5-ish years (trying lots of different varieties). He always used his own, pretty standard methodology of trench planting, 2.5' to 3' spacing, cattle panel supports, and lots of cow manure and straw mulch. He didn't ever stray from his methods (which probably include a few superstitions too) because that's what he had always done, and he usually had pretty darn good yields. Unfortunately, now he is in his 80's and just can't keep up with the big farm gardens anymore, and I just can't do a big 100+ plant garden at his farm hours away by myself due to work and time restrictions... so I am stuck growing tomatoes at MY place this year.