Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating peppers.

Old April 13, 2018   #1
cjp1953
Tomatovillian™

Default Pruning the tops leaves from tall pepper plants

I have seen this done on you tube but does anyone here do it?I have a few that have grown very tall.Has anyone pruned them back to get a fuller plant?Have you found by doing this you get more production.I talking about taken the top 2 sets of true leaves off.The plants have 4 or 5 sets of leaves.This is on my jalapeno and hot cayenne pepper plants.I have some that are still small and all are still on my heat mat.This is my first year using a mat,when do you take them off the heat?Temps are 75 to 80 degrees.All were started Feb.25th.
cjp1953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13, 2018   #2
zipcode
Tomatovillian™

I think you mean cutting the growing tips off, not just the leaves, right? (done after the plant starts to fork or you risk not having any growing tips at all).
Just cutting leaves will have no effect on the growth pattern of the plant.
zipcode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13, 2018   #3
oakley
Tomatovillian™

http://www.tomatoville.com/showthread.php?t=46064
oakley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13, 2018   #4
cjp1953
Tomatovillian™

Yes that's what I meant.ThanksI took them off the heat mat today.Had it plugged in the last 6 weeks.I'm going to look up more videos before I try this and maybe do 1 or 2 plants.Thanks again.
Old April 13, 2018   #5
oakley
Tomatovillian™

I just snipped a half dozen of mine this morning...
Old April 13, 2018   #6
rhines81
Tomatovillian™