Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

New to growing your own tomatoes? This is the forum to learn the successful techniques used by seasoned tomato growers. Questions are welcome, too.

Old March 5, 2010   #1
Katmary
Tomatovillian™

Default Seed starting question regarding germination

Hi everyone,

I'm new to growing tomatoes from seed and while I've devoured the messages for types of tomatoes, how to make ETs, etc this last year, I've been a bit shy about posting.

I have a question about germination- I received all my tomato seeds last week, and only have room for 1-2 plants per type in my yard. I'm growing them with lights, heating pad, Jiffy seed starting mix, and 72 hole trays. My question is how many seeds should I plant to insure I get 1 plant? Since they're all new seeds, I'm hoping it'll be pretty high so I can use them in the next couple years, but is there a formula any of you use?

I'm also growing extras for my Dad, and know enough neighbors to pass some out to, just would like to use the minimum seeds to insure a plant. I was thinking 3, but since I'm a beginner, perhaps 5 seeds? I've mainly grown herbs from seed, so I figured it was best to ask all you pros!

Thank you!
Kathy
Katmary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5, 2010   #2
mensplace
Tomatovillian™

There are many factors that impact germenation, but, assuming that your seeds came from a reputable source and that you use a good seed starting mix (whether purchased or made of your own mix), keep the soil moist, provide light, and don't plant too deeply, the seed should germinate with no problem. Some take a bit longer than others, but most should germinate.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Katmary View Post
Hi everyone,

I'm new to growing tomatoes from seed and while I've devoured the messages for types of tomatoes, how to make ETs, etc this last year, I've been a bit shy about posting.