Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old February 11, 2006   #1
TomatoDon
Tomatovillian™

Default Larger Tomatoes With Real Taste

We have a thread going about growing large tomatoes, but the taste factor was excluded by the poster. I agree with Craig and Carolyn, that taste should be the ultimate criteria. But I want to grow larger tomatoes than the Better Boy. I have never had luck with the larger varieties, size or taste.

Can anyone suggest their top three larger tomatoes that have that real tomato taste? I don't want to waste my time growing bland, mealy, throw-away tomatoes. This year I would really like to have some nice, big, tomato-ey slicers.

Don
Old February 11, 2006   #2
Suze
Tomatovillian™

Cuostralee, Aker's West Virginia, OTV Brandywine
Suze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11, 2006   #3
jwr6404
Tomatovillian™

I'm relatively new at growing tomatos and only have a TOP-2. They are Caspian Pink and Gregori Altai.
Old February 11, 2006   #4
markferon
Tomatovillian™

taste is effected by how you grow them, the weather, fertilizing and watering. So basically you could grow great a tasting variety and still get tomatoes that do not taste good to you or others.
markferon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11, 2006   #5
TomatoDon
Tomatovillian™

Yes, Mark, all those factors play a big part. But so does variety. All things being equal, what are the most favored and flavored larger tomatoes?

Don
Old February 11, 2006   #6
shelleybean
Tomatovillian™

I have two for you...German Head and Yellow Brandywine (although my YB got down to about 6 oz. by the end of the season).
Old February 11, 2006   #7
cottonpicker
Tomatovillian™

I don't give a HOOT about size... I WANT TASTE!!!