Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old March 20, 2018   #1
EarlyBird
Tomatovillian™

Default 10b Varieties?

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to the entire tomato world, this being only my second season. I apologize, therefore, if this topic has been beaten to death, but here goes:

I live in the 10b zone, Los Angeles, CA, and am not clear on if certain varieties are better suited to a specific climate zone, or if it's simply that areas with colder, shorter growing seasons need to be more careful with choice of varieties. We tend to have cooler, overcast Spring and early Summer, giving over to a hot "humidish" middle Summer, into a blazing hot late Summer.

Are there some great tasting heirlooms that are specifically suited to my climate which you can recommend? Looking to put in six plants, each different, this year. Hoping for beefsteak, slicers, cherries and all around salad types.

Thanks!
EarlyBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21, 2018   #2
shyxlilfox
Tomatovillian™

Default also in 10b

I've had good luck with the following plants throughout the season (*produced through ridiculous heat):

1. Sungold*
2. Girl Girl's Weird Thing*
3. JD's Special C-Tex*
4. Delicious*
5. Donskoi*
6. Prue
7. Stump of the World - stingy producer for me, but it was in a bad spot
8. Rebel Yell*
9. Paul Robeson - produced decently earlier in the season, but died by the time it high mid to high 90s.
10. Riesentraube
11. Martino's Roma*

I planted about 1/2 in Mid-March last year, and the rest about a month later. Some ripe fruits were ready by end of May. Everything was dead or near dead by August.

hope this helps!

ETA: I garden in south Los Angeles County/North Orange County about 3 miles from Buena Park. If you're in the same area, then we might have the same microclimate. Let me know if you need seeds to start via pm.