Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General discussion regarding the techniques and methods used to successfully grow tomato plants in containers.

Old September 22, 2018   #1
Jetstar
Tomatovillian™

Default Great results with new pepper variety

With fall officially here I just had to harvest some of my Japanese Shish!to peppers. This is my first year growing this variety and the yield has been amazing!! I had over 120 peppers from just 2 plants, I spent the next hour or so washing removing the seeds and slicing them up. Some will be sent to the freezer, and some will be used in cooking for the next few weeks. In two weeks if as long as we don't get frost there will be more peppers getting ripe for picking. Here's a pic of lots of peppers.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg lots of peppers 002.jpg (518.8 KB, 131 views)
Jetstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22, 2018   #2
pmcgrady
Tomatovillian™

I pick a lot of mine green for frying, yours look really good. They are a very productive pepper.
pmcgrady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22, 2018   #3
Jetstar
Tomatovillian™

I've never had a pepper plant produce so many peppers!
Old September 23, 2018   #4
peebee
Tomatovillian™

JetStar, have you ever tried eating them just whole, fried in a little oil w/ some salt or however you want to season them? I drizzle a bit of soy sauce at the end if I eat them by themselves plain but of course I use them in mixed stir-fries and in pasta dishes. It just seems like a lot of work to deseed and slice such small peppers. When fried or sautéed, the small seeds become soft and do not bother most people.
Your harvest looks amazing by the way . I could use some now but my season is over.
peebee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23, 2018   #5
Jetstar
Tomatovillian™