Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General discussion regarding the techniques and methods used to successfully grow tomato plants in containers.

Old October 24, 2018   #1
Tiny Tim
Tomatovillian™

Default Indoor Grow

This is my first time trying tomatoes indoors in a tent under a grow light. This is what I'm using and growing. 2'x2'x4' grow tent. I started these plants under a Mars 300 led. Actual watts=135. The variety is Tiny Tim, the breeder is Hudson Valley Seed Co. The 4 plants are 18 days old. I transplanted them last night into 2 gallon fabric pots using Fox Farm Happy Frog soil.
They will be going into the above mentioned tent in one week. They will then be under a QB 135 Led.
Anyone have any advice or tips on an indoor grow?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20181024_153737.jpg (398.3 KB, 201 views)
File Type: jpg 20181024_161041.jpg (410.1 KB, 198 views)
File Type: jpg 20181024_161029.jpg (268.2 KB, 197 views)
Tiny Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24, 2018   #2
bower
Tomatovillian™

Fungus gnats are a common indoor problem, and the answer is to water the plants with a mosquito dunk liquid before you have any gnats. Or sometimes marketed as "mosquito bits" these can just be dug into the soil or sprinkled on top right from the get go - that way you have BTi leaching into the mix every time you water. It is most effective against only one of the developmental stages of the gnats, which is hard to time if you wait until you know you have a problem. I used the mosquito bits this year for my peppers, and no root devouring gnats this time! (Aphids is another question.. sadly.)
Good luck with your grow, hope you post some more pics as it goes along.
bower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25, 2018   #3
Tiny Tim
Tomatovillian™