Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Information and discussion regarding garden diseases, insects and other unwelcome critters.

Old September 30, 2015   #1
mdvpc
Tomatoville® Moderator

Default How I Solved My Squirrel Problem

This is my first year gardening in San Antonio, before that, in El Paso, never had any squirrels taking my fruit. This year, I have seen squirrels in my raised beds several times. They started taking a couple red fruits a day, then started even taking green fruit. I could count the fruit because they would leave the fruit, half-eaten, around the raised beds. I would lose at least two fruit a day, and that went on for probably 2-3 weeks. I tried the commercial critter ridder, but that didn't work.

I got some habanero peppers, made a spray, and sprayed that everywhere-on the plants, ground, fruit, etc. That didn't work at all, I was still losing the same amount of fruit.

So I cut some habanero fruit into two pieces, and left the pieces on the raised beds where I had seen the squirrel. I could tell they tried the habanero, because I see torn pieces scattered. Since then, I have not lost one fruit. They are obviously attracted to the orange habanero fruit. I make sure there are pieces of the habanero on the raised beds, and every 2-3 days, I can tell they have tried them.

I am hopeful that this will "train" these squirrels to leave my beds alone.
Old September 30, 2015   #2
kurt
Tomatovillian™

During our mangoe and lychee season we use in con★★★★★★★★ with blank cds strung from trees I grind some superhots in a small Krups grinder and sprinkle along the fence line where the bushy tailed rats come raiding.I believe it gets on the paws and when they lick the paws it sends them scurrying.Here is a related article I saved from years ago that gave me the notion.

http://news.nationalgeographic.com/n...nts-chili.html
Old September 30, 2015   #3
mdvpc
Tomatoville® Moderator