Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General discussion regarding the techniques and methods used to successfully grow tomato plants in containers.

Old April 4, 2014   #1
lexusnexus
Tomatovillian™

Default Crash Course Needed

Because of the way the logistics are working out this year I am going to have to grow my tomatoes and peppers in containers. I have no practical experience with them. I don't think my orchids count. So, I need to learn as much as possible over the next few weeks. I am gathering that I will need sizes from 5 gallon to 20 gallon pots. Grape tomatoes in the small ones and beefsteak in the large. I've seen many references to different mediums. I suspect this is like asking who makes the best cheesecake. The only real downside is that I am going to be limited to what is at the local nurseries because it is far too late to start from seeds. I'll be asking questions as I go along. Thanks for any help...

Dan
Old April 4, 2014   #2
Doug9345
Tomatovillian™

Why grapes in the small and beef steaks in the large? You can have large grape tomato vines and small beefsteak plants?
Doug9345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4, 2014   #3
lexusnexus
Tomatovillian™

Just from reading the things I have heard are that the larger plants in bigger pots and smaller plants in smaller pots. Maybe I just misunderstood what I was reading. Like I said, I have no real experience with container growing of vegetables.
Old April 4, 2014   #4
Stvrob
Tomatovillian™

I don't think you should assume the size of the fruit to be related to the size of the plant. My Cherry tomatoes are the largest tomato plants I grow for instance.

Also, I don't think it is too late for you to grow the varieties you want from seed.
Stvrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4, 2014   #5
ginger2778
Tomatovillian™

Quote:
Originally Posted by lexusnexus View Post