Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Information and discussion regarding garden diseases, insects and other unwelcome critters.

Old March 28, 2017   #1
MissS
Tomatovillian™

Default Heirloom Tomatoes Fusarium Wilt and/or Verticillium resistant?

I thought that it might be helpful if we could name some of the heirloom/OP varieties of tomatoes that can resist Fusarium and Verticillium wilts in our gardens.

Now, for the growers that decide to grow these varieties, be aware that they are "resistant" and not "immune" to these conditions.
Old March 28, 2017   #2
ContainerTed
Tomatovillian™

I've looked at this subject from the left, right, upside, downside, and everywhere. My conclusion has always been to do preventative sprays of fungicides (Garden Safe is my goto). This is my decision because I refuse to be limited in what varieties I will grow. It costs me a few more bucks and a lot more work. But I've been doing this for more than 50 years and the chemicals haven't gotten me yet.

Of course, your opinion and your results may be different.

Take care
The Muddy Bucket Farm
and Tomato Ranch

ContainerTed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28, 2017   #3
carolyn137
Moderator Emeritus

Quote:
Originally Posted by MissS View Post
I thought that it might be helpful if we could name some of the heirloom/OP varieties of tomatoes that can resist Fusarium and Verticillium wilts in our gardens.

Now, for the growers that decide to grow these varieties, be aware that they are "resistant" and not "immune" to these conditions.
And from the other thread where blight resistant varieties were asked about

(tolerance - relative capacity of an organism to grow or thrive when subjected to an unfavorable environmental factor
resistance - the inherent ability of an organism to resist harmful influences (such as disease, toxic agents, or infection)

Carolyn is right, the proper use of the term in this case would be
tolerance)