Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

New to growing your own tomatoes? This is the forum to learn the successful techniques used by seasoned tomato growers. Questions are welcome, too.

Old June 16, 2014   #1
cjp1953
Tomatovillian™

Default Saving your Tomatoe seeds

I know this has been asked before,please forgive me for that.Do you just wash your seeds clean from the jell of the tomatoe and store in a ziplock bag?I want to save some Black Krim seeds and start my own plants next spring.I've never done this before and they are hard to find,not many nurseries sell these.One will order them if your buy a flat,I think there's around 12 plants.I only need a few as my garden is only 12'x12'.
cjp1953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16, 2014   #2
heirloomtomaguy
Tomatovillian™

You pull out the seeds and juice of the tomato and put them i a ziplock bag with just a touch of water. Very little water. Allow the seeds to ferment. It usually takes between 3-7 days her in So Cal. The mixture usually has just a bit of mold on it. After fermentation pull out the mixture put it on a screened colander and rinse all of the mold and gel off of the seeds. Put them on a paper plate and allow them to dry for 2-4 weeks depending on the humidity of where you live. Then put them in your favorite container for storage.
“Enter by the narrow gate; for wide is the gate and broad is the way that leads to destruction, and there are many who go in by it. Because narrow is the gate and difficult is the way which leads to life, and there are few who find it."
heirloomtomaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16, 2014   #3
Worth1
Tomatovillian™

First off somewhere here is thread or post on seed fermenting and I cant find it.
Somewhere there should be a sticky with this information on it and then locked.
I think it should be called saving and fermenting tomato seed.

Where is this important information at?
Am I just not seeing it.

Worth
Worth1 is offline   Reply With Quote