Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Information and discussion about canning and dehydrating tomatoes and other garden vegetables and fruits. DISCLAIMER: SOME RECIPES MAY NOT COMPLY WITH CURRENT FOOD SAFETY GUIDELINES - FOLLOW AT YOUR OWN RISK

Old March 1, 2018   #1
fordido
Tomatovillian™

Question Canning Tomato/Chile Pepper Blend?

Hi All!
I am brand new to canning & apologize in advance if this is a really dumb question, but I've searched online & in the forums and can't seem to find exactly what I'm looking for. Canning feels so intimidating, especially pressure canning! I'd like to can a homemade Rotel-type mixture, which is usually diced tomatoes & anaheim chiles, but I can't find any specific approved recipes for it in any of the official guides online. However it does say that you may pressure can a mixture of low-acid vegetables & process them according to the guidelines of the vegetable with the longest time. I referenced these two links to come up with a proposed plan for a mixture of 3 parts tomatoes to 1 part chiles:
http://nchfp.uga.edu/how/can_03/tomato_juice_pack.html
http://nchfp.uga.edu/how/can_04/peppers.html
1. Prep chile peppers according to NCHFP guidelines (roast, peel, chop)

2. Prep tomatoes according to NCHFP guidelines for hot-packed halved tomatoes in juice (blanch, peel, cut)

3. Add chile peppers & tomatoes to a pot. Continue to process mixture according to NCHFP guidelines for tomatoes by gently boiling for 5 minutes.

4. Add citric acid to jars & fill with tomato mixture. Top with juice, leaving appropriate headspace (tomato recipe calls for 1/2 inch, peppers recipe calls for 1 inch - not sure which to use??)

5. Process using weighted gauge pressure canner for 35 minutes at 15 pounds. This is the specified time for processing peppers, which is the higher of the two. Just tomatoes would process for 25 minutes at 15 pounds.