Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating herbs.

Old July 3, 2009   #1
cdbva
Tomatovillian™

Default Oregano Flavor

I planted oregano last year from a small plant bought at the nursery. It was very tasty, and survived, with a few green leaves here and there, through the winter.

Now that it's summer, it's come back like mad, with massively abundant leaves. Lots and lots of leaves. Many shoots. It's even crowded out my mint. But its flavor is a bit bland. It was very hearty before -- especially those few brave leaves that held on through ice and snow.

So I'm wondering why it's bland now. Over the winter the flavor seemed even stronger, which I thought might be due to the leaves being old.

Any thoughts?

Christine
cdbva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3, 2009   #2
habitat_gardener
Tomatovillian™

When I studied medicinal herbs, the rule of thumb was that the more herbs were allowed to fend for themselves (poor, dry soil), the stronger the herbs were. Is it in full sun? Not fertilized? Kept on the dry side (but don't let it wilt)?

Also, I pick mine (for drying) before it puts any energy into flowers. I try to catch it just as the stems start to elongate, before any flowers start forming.
habitat_gardener is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3, 2009   #3
cdbva
Tomatovillian™

Ohhhhh. Maybe all this rain is the culprit. We've had a phenomenally wet spring, barely saw the sun until the first of June, and not that much since then.
The soil is not great -- so I know I'm doing that right. And it's in full sun.

Maybe I'll just have to wait until the rain lets up. Darn, I miss that bite-you-back flavor!

Christine
Old July 4, 2009   #4
habitat_gardener
Tomatovillian™

Funny, I was looking at an herb book that said marjoram was the opposite of most herbs -- it gets a stronger flavor in rich soil. So maybe this is the year to plant marjoram.