Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating beans, peas, peanuts, clover and vetch.

Old July 25, 2015   #1
barefootgardener
Tomatovillian™

Default Insuk's Wang Kong

Here are a few pictures of Insuk's Wang Kong runner beans that I started from seed this spring. I started 12 seeds in cups and all germinated. I planted some in my GH to grow up a trellis. And the rest I planted out in the garden to climb up a pole. (unfortunately something ate a couple down to the nub!) The flowers/blossoms and seeds are beautiful! The flowers are more of a fluorescent red/orange color when in bloom. I did have one white flower bloom on one plant. I am getting some little beans now on the plants! This is my first time growing them. I have not seen any hummers on them yet! (Fortex pole bean in foreground)

Ginny

Last edited by barefootgardener; July 25, 2015 at 06:05 AM.
barefootgardener is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25, 2015   #2
barefootgardener
Tomatovillian™

Old July 25, 2015   #3
barefootgardener
Tomatovillian™

Old July 25, 2015   #4
Labradors2
Tomatovillian™

They are beautiful! Sorry that the hummers haven't discovered them - yet. Hopefully, they will.

Linda
Labradors2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26, 2015   #5
peebee
Tomatovillian™

So would you be eating these strictly as dry beans, or can you eat while they are still string beans? Thank you for posting the pics, I have never seen or grown these before but I am familiar with the name. If I am not mistaken, I was going to order them once a couple of years ago but the site was sold out and I didn't bother looking around. They are so pretty, I would use them in my front yard.
peebee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26, 2015   #6
Zeedman
Tomatovillian™