Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Have a great invention to help with gardening? Are you the self-reliant type that prefers Building It Yourself vs. buying it? Share and discuss your ideas and projects with other members.

Old March 15, 2009   #1
catalinsv
Tomatovillian™

Default 5 gallon canister converted into EarthTainer

Hi everyone,

Very interesting this forum and full of information and experiences from the people who post. I'm a newbie and I plan to start this year a greenhouse for vegetables and as I read around the forum I tried to start my own seedlings using EarthTainers after germination.
In the pictures attached are 3 EarthTainers built following Mr. Newstead instructions on his website. I use 5 gallon (20 litres) canisters.
Experienced users opinion is welcome, I repeat I'm newbie.
For one EarthTainer was used only one canister, the top was cut and displace as a mix holder inside.
If there are questions about construction I can detail the construction phases.
In the picture bellow there are three types of pepper in the EarthTainers.

Thanks.

Last edited by catalinsv; March 15, 2009 at 06:50 AM.
catalinsv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15, 2009   #2
ContainerTed
Tomatovillian™

I would love to see some of the details of the construction phase. Looks good from the picture.

Ted
The Muddy Bucket Farm
and Tomato Ranch

ContainerTed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15, 2009   #3
geeboss
Tomatovillian™

Definitely like your SeedlingTainers I'll look into this for my next grow out of my perennial flowers next month. Now to find some 5 gal. water jugs that have flat sides.

George
geeboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15, 2009   #4
mdvpc
Tomatoville® Moderator

Cat-welcome to the forum. Great idea and construction. Good idea to use the self-watering for 20 liter container. Interested to know what types of peppers you are growing. And even more interested if you have knowledge of Romanian heirloom tomatoes.