Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old February 2, 2017   #1
whoose
Tomatovillian™

Default How to Construct a Raised Bed with Low Tunnel

How to Construct a Raised Bed with Low Tunnel

This post is intended to be an experiential based discussion of how to make a raised bed. There are many consideration that I will try to cover and some controversies. I will have Tomatoville post for reference from many discussion that already have been had controversial topics.

My credentials: Psychology Professor by trade (retired), I have been a home owner level carpenter all my life, I built a log house, two garages and a greenhouse. I have done maintenance on these building for the last 40 years. I have tools, not that modern, but sufficient for the task. Last year I built seven raised beds, five with low tunnels. I plan one more raised bed for this Spring.
2016-10-07 001 2016-10-07 006.jpg
Please feel free to add to the discussion, we all are here to learn from each other.

Why build a raised bed?

Many of us are happy with our container gardens or regular garden spaces. Some of us want to expand to the next level of the raised bed.

Some of the advantages of raised bed are:

• Maximizing the amount of soil for growing plants.
  • Allowing for easy applications of compost and fertilizer.
  • Easier control of weeds.
  • The ability build soil is enhanced.
  • Raised beds just look nice.

Where to build a raised bed?

Ideally a south facing exposure on level ground is the most desirable. Many of us are not lucky enough to have this ideal.

Try to avoid these situation.
  • Trees, brush, tall grass, large roots.
  • Rock outcrops that are not level.
  • Long distances for your water source.
  • Shade.

What to use to build a raised bed?

Almost anything you can stack, form or pile will work:
  • Clay Bricks.
  • Concrete walls.
  • Cinder blocks.
  • Retaining wall blocks.
  • Hay bales.