Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

New to growing your own tomatoes? This is the forum to learn the successful techniques used by seasoned tomato growers. Questions are welcome, too.

Old March 10, 2010   #1
ORgardener07
Tomatovillian™

Default Burned Seedlings

So this is my first year starting tomatoes from seed. they accidentally got misted with miracle grow when they should have gotten water (wrong seed tray). Now some of the cotyledon are withering is there any thing that can be done to save them (they are just now producing first leaves.) or would it be best to simply start over or is it too late in the year to do so. any input would be greatly appreciated
ORgardener07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10, 2010   #2
nctomatoman
Tomatoville® Moderator

Hmmm. I once overfertilized early on and burned young seedlings - just kept giving them nothing but water and they did eventually grow out of it and do fine, but there are variables such as how strong, how much damage, etc - I think the key would be to wait to see if true leaves develop and how they look. That is the critical part. good luck! With gardening every year it seems to be 'something" unexpected!
Old March 10, 2010   #3
Mojo
Tomatovillian™

That was me this year: I hit them with a weak dose of fish emulsion and rooting hormone solution when I potted up, but I forgot that the rooting hormone solution also had fertilizer in it, and most of mine got burnt. TLC indoors and nothing but jugs of cheap bottled water for two weeks, followed by occasional watering using water from my aquarium and they're all outside now, mostly recovered.
Old March 10, 2010   #4
ORgardener07
Tomatovillian™

thanks so much ya'll for the responses. I'm glad to hear they might recover. I didn't get a great germination of the cherokee purple this year so hopefully they'll do ok. Ill keep ya'll updated.
ORgardener07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11, 2010   #5
mensplace
Tomatovillian™