Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General discussion regarding the techniques and methods used to successfully grow tomato plants in containers.

Old May 15, 2011   #1
drlarry
Tomatovillian™

Default Earthtainer III ready for Michigan

I've been growing tomatoes in large pots for about 10 years now with mixed results. Decided to give the Earthtainer III a try and will be building four this week and plan to stick close to the instructions for the first year. I'll be using Premier Pro-Mix BX and just need to find a few more supplies.

I've been unable to find E.B. Stone Sure Start in the Detroit area. Anyone know of a source or a good alternative?

I'm also trying to figure out how I'll measure out the Pro-Mix since it comes in compressed 3.8 cu.ft. bales and each container should be allocated roughly 2.7 cu.ft. I should have enough for my four Earthtainers, but don't want to run short.

Rnewste states six scoops of grow media plus one Perlite for each layer. Any thoughts on what size scoop works best?

Also, is the Earthtainer III designed to hold two tomato plants? The photo on the top of page 15 of the instructions shows the first transplant almost in the corner of the container, as if leaving room for more plants? Is it typical to transplant in the corners?

Any other Michiganders have your Earthtainers up and growing?
drlarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2011   #2
rnewste
Tomatovillian™

larry,

Congrats on taking the EarthTainer "plunge". If you have that many years with growing in ordinary pots - - prepared to be wow'ed with what you will experience in the EarthTainers.

Regarding the Starter Fertilizer, try to find Espoma Bio-tone or similar starter fertilizer. Look for ingredients including Mycorrhizae.

I think you will need more Pro-Mix BX. Including filling the wicking basket, you should budget about 3.2 cu. ft. per 'Tainer.