Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Information and discussion regarding garden diseases, insects and other unwelcome critters.

Old June 14, 2011   #1
TOSWALD
Tomatovillian™

Default PROBLEM WITH MORTGAGE LIFTER TOMATO PLANT

I HAVE BEEN GARDENING FOR 9 YEARS NOW AND HAVE HAD GREAT SUCCESS EVERY YEAR WITH MY TOMATOES (MOSTLY BETTER BOY).

THIS YEAR I PLANTED 2 MORTGAGE LIFTER TOMATO PLANTS AT THE SAME TIME (HARDENED BEFORE PLANTING).

PLANTED IN A MUSHROOM COMPOST, WATERED REGULARLY. FERTILIZED (STARTED APPLYING ONE HANDFUL OF MIL-ORGANITE (ONCE A WEEK) WHEN FLOWERS APPEARED AND APPLIED ONE HANDFUL OF POWDERED LIME (WILL DO ONCE A MONTH). ALSO SPRAYED BLOOMS ONCE WITH A MIXTURE OF 1 TBSP EPSON SALT/GAL WATER TO HELP SET FRUIT.

ONE PLANT IS DOING GREAT, THE OTHER IS INFECTED WITH UNIDENTIFIED DISEASE. IT IS INFECTING THE LEAVES AND THE NEW SHOOTS AND SOME OF THE STEMS. I HAVE BEEN REMOVING THE INFECTED LEAVES, ETC BUT IT CONTINUES. DISEASED PLANT IS NOW ABSENT OF ANY FLOWERS AND NO FRUIT DEVELOPED.

I HAVE USED THIS SAME ROUTINE ON ALL MY OTHER TOMATO PLANTS AND THEY ARE DOING GREAT.

DOES ANYONE KNOW WHAT IT IS AND HOW TO TREAT IT?
THE DISEASED PLANT IS NEARBY SOME HEALTHY ENGLISH CUCUMBER PLANTS.

1ST PICTURE IS OF MY ONE HEALTHY PLANT, 2ND PIC IS DISEASED PLANT (HAVE BEEN CUTTING DISEASED PARTS OFF) AND LAST TWO PICS ARE OF THE DISEASED LEAVES

HAMPTON, VIRGINIA
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PICT0007.jpg (175.5 KB, 129 views)
File Type: jpg PICT0006.jpg (249.2 KB, 128 views)
File Type: jpg PICT0002.jpg (120.2 KB, 125 views)
File Type: jpg PICT0003.jpg (129.5 KB, 121 views)
TOSWALD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14, 2011   #2
tedln

I also grew Mortgage Lifter for the first time this year. For me, it has been the most productive tomato plant in my garden.