Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old March 27, 2012   #1
TigersAU777
Tomatovillian™

Default Thicker Stalks, Deeper Greens

I am new to the tomato game and am growing 8 early girls, 2 better boys, 1 park's whopper, and 1 red beefsteak tomato plant. My plan is a 3 stage fertilization, with the first stage being high in nitrogen to stimulate growth, the second high in phosphorous to encourage vigorous blooming, and the third stage high potassium to promote better fruits. Through reading I am developing some mixed thoughts about my 1st stage as many things lead me to believe that high nitrogen is not a good idea. I would like to promote growth as much as I can before fruiting though, so how can I go about this? About half of my early girls have very spindly stalks, and are a much lighter green. I am looking for a way to thicken them up and deepen the color so they are not a light green. Any input is appreciated...Thanks!!
TigersAU777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29, 2012   #2
TigersAU777
Tomatovillian™

Bump. Can Anyone Help?
Old March 29, 2012   #3
Gobig_or_Gohome_toms
Tomatovillian™

If they are spindly make sure they are getting enough light and second make sure they are not getting too much water. Typically the first application of frets I use on seedlings is 25 to 50 percent strength of miricle grow for tomatoes once the second set of true leaves appear and then at plant out I use 50 to 75 percent miracle grow for tomatoes. Then at blooming stage I have used miracle bloom booster.

Craig
Gobig_or_Gohome_toms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29, 2012   #4
RayR
Tomatovillian™

Got any pictures?
What stage are they at? Just spouted or have they developed new leaves?