Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old April 3, 2012   #1
kenny_j
Tomatovillian™

Default Totally confused on lime

Trying to follow many recommendations on planting in pots, so I bought some dolomite lime to add to containers. Everything I am reading since buying the lime says to add at least one month prior to planting, and to NOT fertilize soon after addition of lime!! So, do I, or should I add lime to final destination 5 gal pots as I pot the plants? And when can I fertilize. The more I think I learn, the more questions pop up.

kj
kenny_j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4, 2012   #2
rsg2001
Tomatovillian™

Kenny, I'm not an expert, but if you're using Earthboxes, they have you add both the lime and the fertilizer at the same time when you're preparing the pot. Sorry to add to your confusion.... The couple of Earthboxes I have had had good results with that methodology. Most of my containers are self-watering types from Gardener's Supply, and I had never used lime in them... until I had good results with the Earthbox, so now I had that two before planting, along with the fertilizer. I use the dolomitic line - very fine powder.
rsg2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4, 2012   #3
feldon30
Tomatovillian™

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenny_j View Post
Trying to follow many recommendations on planting in pots, so I bought some dolomite lime to add to containers. Everything I am reading since buying the lime says to add at least one month prior to planting, and to NOT fertilize soon after addition of lime!!
Not sure where you are reading that. Sounds totally silly to me.

Although I was doing raised bed gardening, I added dolomitic lime to the planting hole right before I stuck the plants in the ground, and had great results.

Never heard of having to wait a month.

[I][SIZE="1"]*I'm not allowed to post weblinks so you'll have to copy-paste it manually.[/SIZE][/I]