Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old April 5, 2012   #1
John3
Tomatovillian™

Default Sure Hope To Get Good Tasting Tomatoes :)

Tomatoville Members have posted long posts and posts with just tid bits of information for growing in your garden and having gleamed through what information I found here has lead me to Step by Step's. I take no credit for the information as most of it is put together from other Tomatovillians. I will have to say with special thanks to Ami and Raybo (even though Raybo is doing self contained microcosms for growing and this collection of information is mainly for in-ground planting)
If you think other products should be included let me know.
If you have questions I will try and answer them - but I am not a pro.

So I'll start this off with a quote from Raybo
Quote:
Also, another "tip" when watering in the Mycos, I always buy a couple gallon jugs of Crystal Geyser or other cheap brand of bottled water specifically to avoid killing off the (good) bacteria, etc. in the Mycos you've just paid good money for, if you had used tap water.

Raybo
John3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5, 2012   #2
John3
Tomatovillian™

Seed Starting to Transplanting
Saltwater Farms - SeaCom PGR
these quotes are from Tomatovillian Mischka
Quote:
I use SeaCom PGR because I want my seedlings (and plants) to benefit from the cytokinin, which is more concentrated in that formulation.

I've done side-by-side comparisons on flats of same variety seedlings, one treated with SeaCom and one without and there's been a noticeable difference in seedling size and stem thickness.
AND note on using on tomatoes
Quote:
Here's another reason why I highly recommend unfortified (no NPK added) seaweed-derived fertilizers for use in starting from seed.